Skip to product information
1 of 6

The Gently Mad Book Shop

Elspeth Davie : Death of a Doctor and Other Stories : 1st 1992

Elspeth Davie : Death of a Doctor and Other Stories : 1st 1992

Regular price £60.00 GBP
Regular price Sale price £60.00 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.
Death od a Doctor and Other Stories

By Elspeth Davie

Published by Sinclair-Stevenson, London, 1992. First Edition. Hard-to-find title. Hardback with original dust jacket. 213 pages.


A very good first edition in a very good unclipped dust jacket. Boards and spine are good and the pages are clean throughout. No names or writing to the book. A difficult book to find.

Elspeth Mary Davie (née Dryer) (20 March 1918 - 14 November 1995) was a Scottish novelist, short story writer, painter, and art teacher. Her novels include Providings (1965) and Creating a Scene (1971), The Night of the Funny Hats (1980), A Traveller's Room (1985), but she achieved most of her acclaim for her short stories, principally for the collections The Spark (1968) and The Man Who Wanted To Smell Books (2001).

Davie was awarded the 1978 Katherine Mansfield Prize for Short Stories. Her work was released by the world-famous Calder Publications. She was married to the Scottish philosopher and writer George Elder Davie
View full details