Skip to product information
1 of 9

The Gently Mad Book Shop

1879 POETICAL WORKS OF SIR DAVID LYNDSAY 3 Fine Bindings : Renaissance Poetry

1879 POETICAL WORKS OF SIR DAVID LYNDSAY 3 Fine Bindings : Renaissance Poetry

Regular price $204.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $204.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Tax included.
The Poetical Works of Sir David Lyndsay

Complete in Three Volumes : Contemporary bindings by Andrew Grieve  of  Edinburgh  (signed  in  gilt  on  front  turn-ins)

Published by William Paterson, Edinburgh, 1879. Complete in Three volumes. 8vo, fine leather bindings by Andrew Grieve of Edinburgh. Gilt to top edges, gilt turn-ins and marble endpapers.

All three volumes in very good condition. The leather bindings are in very good condition with the joints secure and with no cracking. Slight rubbing to a couple of the raised bands but overall in fine condition. Endpapers very good. Name written to front blank endpaper of volume I only. All contents present and pages in very good clean condition throughout. Overall a finely bound and hansome set in very good condition.

Sir David Lyndsay of the Mount (c. 1490 – c. 1555; alias Lindsay) was a Scottish herald who gained the highest heraldic office of Lyon King of Arms. He remains a well regarded poet whose works reflect the spirit of the Renaissance, specifically as a makar.

A complete edition of Lyndsay's poetical works was published by David Laing in 3 vols. in 1879. The E.E.T.S. issued the first part of a complete edition in 1865 (ed. F. Hall). Five parts have appeared, four edited by F. Hall, the fifth by J.A.H. Murray. For the bibliography see Laing's 3 vol. edition, u.s. iii. pp. 222 et seq., and the E.E.T.S. edition passim.

The Association for Scottish Literary Studies issued Janet Hadley Williams, David Lyndsay, Selected Poems, (2000) freshly establishing texts with detailed notes. See also the editions by Pinkerton (1792), Sibbald (1803), and George Chalmers (1806); and the critical accounts in Henderson's Scottish Vernacular Literature (1898), Gregory Smith's Transition Period (1900), and J.H. Millar's Literary History of Scotland (1903).

View full details