Skip to product information
1 of 6

The Gently Mad Book Shop

1893 : Mrs. Falchion : A Novel : Gilbert Parker : 1st Editon - Vellum Binding

1893 : Mrs. Falchion : A Novel : Gilbert Parker : 1st Editon - Vellum Binding

Regular price $62.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $62.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Tax included.
Mrs. Falchion : A Novel

By Gilbert Parker

Published by The Home Publishing Company, New York, 1893. First Edition. Scarce. 8vo (book measures 19 x 13cm). Half vellum binding with gilt to spine and to boards, blue marble endpapers, all page edges are stained red by the publisher. 283 pages.

A good first edition in a handsome vellum binding. The binding itself is in good condition with no damage, with perhaps some light surface grubbiness in places. Endpapers very good, Pages in good clean condition throughout. Little age-toning to the title page and to the very outer margins of the text pages. Overall a good first edition and scarce in any condition.

Sir Horatio Gilbert George Parker, 1st Baronet PC (1862- 1932), known as Gilbert Parker, Canadian novelist and British politician, was born at Camden East, Addington, Ontario. He was educated at Ottawa and at University of Trinity College at the University of Toronto. Parker started as a teacher at the Ontario School for the deaf and dumb (in Belleville, Ontario). From there he went on to lecture at Trinity College. In 1886 he went to Australia, and became for a while associate editor of the Sydney Morning Herald.

Parker also travelled extensively in the Pacific, Europe, Asia, Egypt, the South Sea Islands and subsequently in northern Canada. In the early nineties he began to make a growing reputation in London as a writer of romantic fiction. The best of his novels are those in which he first took for his subject the history and life of the French Canadians; and his permanent literary reputation rests on the fine quality, descriptive and dramatic, of his Canadian stories.

His works include: Mrs Falchion (1893), A Lover's Diary (1894), The Battle of the Strong (1898), The Lane That Had No Turning (1900), The Right of Way (1901), Cumner's Son (1904), The Weavers (1907), Northern Lights (1909), and The Judgment House (1913).
View full details